It’s Not About Exercise, It’s About Life.

You could be forgiven for thinking that I am all about exercise and I know many people don’t get my love of exercise, or wish that they did love it and that it was easy for them.  The truth is I don’t always feel like it, that sometimes the chaos of having four young boys and a husband that works away makes me want to sit on the couch, eat chocolate, and survive the days until my husband walks in the door and my world rights itself.  But I have been that person, stuck at home with 4 kids under 3 1/2 years old, treading water, not being able to find the joy in my life.  Don’t get me wrong I find joy in my children, in my husband, and in my family, but I wasn’t able to find joy in myself.  It wasn’t just the extra weight that bothered me it was the fact that when I looked to the future, what sort of mother did I want to be?  I wanted to be able to go camping, ride, walk or swim with the boys, sit in those awful, tiny, plastic chairs at kindy and school without breaking them.  I wanted to go on waterslides with them, swing on swings, jump on trampolines, climb trees, sit on the beach in my swimmers, and hike to the tallest mountain and watch the sun set.  Those are the things that bring me pleasure, that calm me, that make me happy to be alive.  Its the doing, not the having of things that has always driven me.  The only way that I know how to be that mother is to be fit, healthy, and strong.  I think to be strong is to be empowered, especially for a woman.

Be a Part Collage

As mentioned I often feel that people think that I am this crazy exercise person.  For example, when a couple of girlfriends and I decided to climb the tallest mountain in Queensland, Mt Bartle Frere, another mother friend said to me in passing, “You must really love mountain climbing.”  Of course I nodded and agreed, but it is not about the mountain climbing.  Or the mountain bike race.  Or the adventurethon.  Or a 5km walk if thats where you are at.  It’s about asking the question of yourself, “Can I do it?”.  It’s about putting a plan in place and making it work.  It’s about having confidence in yourself to get things done.  It’s about standing at the top of the damn mountain, feeling like you can touch the clouds and realizing that you can do anything!!

Quotation-John-Raynolds-self-confidence-Meetville-Quotes-75382

 

What’s your dream for the future?  Are you going to be fit and healthy enough to live it??

Linking in again with Essentially Jess for IBOT.

16 thoughts on “It’s Not About Exercise, It’s About Life.

  1. Exactly! I was laying in body balance thinking of my first time there a couple years ago. It was a massive achievement for me. At the end of that first class I went up to the instructor and thanked them with tears in my eyes. I didn’t think it would be possible for me to do a class like that with the my chronic back pain. I felt like I climbed a mountain. It was my mountain. It was physical and spiritual, and helped me see I can do more! Thanks for this post!

    Like

  2. I love this post.
    I think boys require a more energetic parent than girls!! I have 3 small boys and they run rings around me!! I have really been trying to get fitter and healthier. I am setting myself small goals which are I know I can do.

    Like

    • That was one of my driving forces for initially losing weight and ‘getting back in the game’ so to speak, because I really didn’t want to be on the sidelines. The decision to try is one of the biggest steps, try a hitlist to break it up into small steps. Good Luck and email me if you have any questions.

      Like

  3. Totally, I think you have to challenge yourself sometimes and do things that you wouldn’t normally. I’ve started an exercise program but have had to take the week off as I’ve come down with bronchilitis. I’m so annoyed I’ve had to stop but my body really does need the rest x

    Like

    • I hate being sick and sometimes rest is the best medicine. Back into it slowly as well, good luck. Complete change of topic but I have heard that the flies are really bad in the Pilbara come Summer, what do you do for outdoors fun then??

      Like

      • Yes they are bad, they’re bad now sadly. You can’t eat outside without them hounding your plate of food. Outdoors fun at the moment is fine, but give it 2 months and it will be too hot for any real outdoor fun unless you get out really early in the morning, say before 8.30-9am or after 6-7pm at night. It’s already fairly warm here at the moment, I think it’s going to be a very hot and stormy summer x

        Like

  4. I find once I get in the habit of exercising the more I crave it. Then if I stop, it is easy to not do it. So that’s pretty confusing. But I get what you are saying and I also want to be active and fit for my 5 boys. I still have a bit of baby weight and it is killing me that it hasn’t dropped off like the other 4 times! #teamIBOT

    Like

    • Haha yes so true. I am often told that I cheated because I had twins, so I got the four kids but only three pregnancies….jury is still out on that one, I feel like the twins did there fair amount of damage! lol. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

