Journey to Adventurethon – Update 5

It is coming up to crunch time for my preparation to Albany and I am actually a little worried.  The bike and run components are coming together but I am officially worried about the kayak leg.  I have no training under my belt for this and at this point I don’t even know if I have a kayak that I can race.  As some of you may know I did manage to score a kayak off the side of the road which by some good fortune the previous owners were giving away.  It is old, a little dirty, but apart from a new bung and small leak that hubby assures me he can fix, this kayak looks like it could be a goer.

The only major problem seems to be whether or not I will be able to stay on it!!

The only major problem seems to be whether or not I will be able to stay on it!!

I don’t know a lot about kayaks or surf skis but from what I could learn from Google I am not entirely sure that this is a beginner level surf ski.  Only way to know whether I can use it come race day is to get some practice on it.  This is also causing some dramas as I need roof racks to transport it to a body of water that doesn’t have sharks that can eat me if I fall out!!  We have ordered roof racks for the car but that will be another week or so before they can be installed and ready to go.  Tick, tick, tick….goes the countdown clock.  Aaaggghhh.  If all else fails ‘the barge’ is ready to go and steady as a rock.

The Barge

The Barge

Well it is no use dwelling on things that can’t be changed so it is back to the grind in regard to my training.  The last two weeks have been pretty good and I have seen some progress in running distance, strength, and getting outside for my rides a lot more often.  Frequency of sessions has been a little hit and miss due to having lovely visitors, and I have also found that recovery has been a little slower.  Whether that is because I have increased the intensity of my training or not having the down time I usually would I am not sure.  I have another lot of visitors this coming week, therefore I might use this week to book in a yoga session and maybe a massage while completing what exercise sessions I can.  Then it will be head down, bottom up to put away some really solid training weeks. Here is my training summary for the last two weeks.

WEEK 9

Monday – Rest day after a very busy weekend.

Tuesday –  Crossfit session in the morning.  4.8km run in the afternoon.

Wednesday – Hilly mountain bike ride.  I wanted to try and do the ‘Ride through the Hills – Part 2’ ride that I found through the Perth Tourism website.  I took a couple of wrong turns though and ended up doing a modified version of the loop including a very steep ride up the hill to the Perth Observatory.  This ride ended up being 28km and took me 1 hour 40 minutes.

Thursday – Crossfit.  I did manage to squeeze in a 2km row before the class started.  It is amazing how much just a small tweak to the routine can make everything just that little bit harder.  I also did a basic 4.5km run in the afternoon.  Really didn’t feel like it but knew I would be in the car all day tomorrow as we were headed to Kalbarri for a long weekend, so I just had to do it.

Friday – Big 6 hours of driving to reach Kalbarri.  Kids had a small play at the beach and in the park that afternoon, so beautiful.  I managed to sneak a 3km beach walk in just to stretch the legs out.

Saturday – We hit the stunning gorges for some hiking today.  Nature’s Windows hike was only 1.2km return.

Nature's window Collage

Z-Bend gorge river trail was 2.6km return but we probably ended up doing 3km total as we did some extra exploring down the bottom of the gorge.

zbend gorge Collage

I also managed to sneak in a quick 10km bike ride that afternoon to Red Bluff point then walked 2km into the main beach where I met the boys fishing.

Sunday –  After dropping Mum and Dad off to start their epic coastal hike, the kids, hubby and I went for breakfast followed by the Pelican Feeding session by the Kalbarri foreshore.  It was great.

Pelican

I then went and completed my amazing 8km coastal run which you can read about here.  I rode the 6km home from Eagle Gorge before having a fantastic lazy day at the beach with the family until the sun went down.

Lazy beach Collage

WEEK 10

Monday – Back in the car for the return trip to Perth, boo hoo, did not want to leave Kalbarri.  No exercise today.

Tuesday – Road ride 18km in approximately 50minutes.

Wednesday – CrossFit.  Completed Filthy 50’s workout which was brutal (apparently someone turned 50 earlier in the week and this is how we celebrate….hmmm, I don’t want to know what happens when someone turns 60!)  Was going to run in the afternoon but I was absolutely wrecked from crossfit.

Thursday –  50 mins on Exercise bike (30km) followed by 3km run.  Had my first migraine tonight in quite some time.  Not surprised as I have been pushing a little harder this week, lots of travel, poor diet, and not getting quality sleep meant that it all fell in a heap.  Timely reminder to look after myself a little better.

Friday – Rest day.

Saturday – CrossFit.  I was only just feeling not so sore from the last crossfit session and then I was hit with another killer session.  Apparently Saturday’s partner workouts are known for being a little hardcore, well now I know.  Completely stuffed.

Sunday – Ow…Ow…Ow…so bloody sore.  Legs not so bad so saddled up and did a 30km road ride (actually managed to do the proper ride I tried last week).  Not my favourite ride, managed to swallow a fly (lots of gagging after that one, ewww) and then a bloody magpie started swooping me.  I must have looked like an absolute idiot ducking, swerving all over the place, and yelling at the stupid bird.  The things we do….

I am a little sad that my parents have had to go home after a lovely couple of weeks having them stay, and its awfully quite in the house.  I expect you may see a few more blog posts from me again…until the next visitors.

 

 

 

One thought on “Journey to Adventurethon – Update 5

Leave a Reply

