A Very Rio Christmas

At the start of this year my husband accepted a position with Rio Tinto, a leading global mining and metals company, which led to us moving to Perth and embarking on the Fly In Fly Out (FIFO) lifestyle and all the adventures that have ensued.  As a family, Rio Tinto, have looked after us very well and Christmas was no exception.  Not only did they host a small affair for my husband’s direct work area, which gave us a night out and a chance to meet some of the people hubby works with, they also hosted a family Christmas event for all the FIFO families in the Perth region at Adventure World Perth.

We had such an awesome night.  The event started at 6pm, after normal trading hours had finished, so we had the whole park to ourselves (well, along with 5000 other Rio families).  Here are just a few pictures of some of the fun we managed to fit in, I apologise for the photo quality in advance.

Having a very serious chat with Santa about how well behaved they have been and what they would like for Christmas....hmmm, likely story boys.

First up we met with Santa.  The boys are having a very serious chat with Santa about how well behaved they have been and what they would like for Christmas….hmmm, likely story boys.

Our Santa photo for this year!  I am very slack in doing Santa photos so this is a first in quite some time.

Our Santa photo for this year! I am very slack in doing Santa photos so this is a first in quite some time.

Next up, Bounty's Revenge.  Hubby elected to hold the bags on this one, thanks.

Next up, Bounty’s Revenge. Hubby elected to hold the bags on this one, thanks.

I admit that I had to drag my eldest boy on this ride kicking and screaming, seriously he did try to do the last minute dash under the fence before getting on.  As I knew he would, he loved it and was grinning ear to ear.  OK that was me....look Mum, no hands!!

I admit that I had to drag my eldest boy on this ride kicking and screaming, seriously he did try to do the last minute dash under the fence before getting on. As I knew he would, he loved it and was grinning ear to ear. OK that was me….look Mum, no hands!!

Next up was the Bumper Boats and this was very definitely hubby's turn.

Next up was the Bumper Boats and this was very definitely hubby’s turn.

This is the only photo of all the water fun we had tonight as Ipads, water, and me in swimmers don't really mix.  Just trust me when I say we conquered Water Mountain.  We went on  single tube rides, double tube full darkness slides, and sliding down on the single mats well into the night....awesome!

This is the only photo of all the water fun we had tonight as Ipads, water, and me in swimmers don’t really mix. Just trust me when I say we conquered Water Mountain. We went on single tube rides, double tube full darkness slides, and sliding down half pipes on the single mats well into the night….awesome!

Then time to get dry and enjoy our ice creams on Rio.

Then time to get dry and enjoy our ice creams on Rio.  Did I mention they also supplied us with dinner packs as well!  No one was going hungry or thirsty that’s for sure.

Final stop was Dinosaur Island.

Final stop was Dinosaur Island with some very realistic dinosaurs made even more so by the night time visit.  On second thoughts it probably wasn’t the smartest idea to do this one just before bed!

This is something we very rarely do, especially with four kids, and we are really grateful for such a wonderful family night out.  Thank you Rio Tinto.

Oh and I almost forgot….The boys were excited to check out their gifts the next morning, one Hot Wheels showbag for the little man and three Max Steele showbags for the big boys.

These are not my kids.... ;-)

These are not my kids…. 😉

6 thoughts on “A Very Rio Christmas

  1. Oh wow! That is so awesome. FIFO is a tough gig so the fact that they looked after the family like this is just brilliant. My hubby did FIFO for 5 years before we met. We almost moved to Port Hedland a couple of years ago but he just couldn’t do it again. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

