Exercise Hitlist No.3 – Off and Running

I seem to have lost my blogging mojo, not for lack of things to write about but just because.  Kids are all at school this year which is amazing and a little depressing to think that I am old enough to have school age children, haha.  To be quite honest I have been fluffing around at home, enjoying the peace and quite, reading and watching TV, and generally being a big, fat lazybones.  It has been lovely….but it has to stop.  So last week I reviewed my new Hitlist, shook it off and got it into working order.  Here is the latest hitlist. Hitlist 3 To prove that I have not been completely unproductive, I have actually managed to get started on a few of these items. Most importantly, I, have a new training partner.  As the new person in town I was a little nervous about how I was going to convince someone to come and train with me.  On the positive side they don’t know what kind of crazy they will be getting into (mwah ha ha ha ha thats supposed to be an evil laugh).  Turns out it was easier than expected.  Pannawonica has an online noticeboard on facebook for town updates, items for sale, services available etc.  I took a big, deep breath and dived right in.  I put a post on the page stating that I was looking for a training partner for the duration of the 8 week challenge, that I have skills that are quite handy for a training partner, and that if there was more than one person interested I would just draw a name out of the hat.  I was a little nervous that there would be nothing but silence and I would be the weird, new girl in town…not a good look….but thankfully I had a very positive response. Phew!  Anyway, back to the point, I have a new training partner which is very exciting.  Maybe a little scary for my new partner, a mother of two who has never really done strength training before, hehehehe….fresh blood.

I have been to four different classes organised by the gym including a Boxing/Cardio class, Circuit class, Yoga, and Spartacus/100 Club.  All that I have been to have been good but I really love the Spartacus class.  This involves about 6 different exercises for example Shuttle Runs, KB Swings, Weighted Lunges, Med Ball Slams, Push Ups, etc and the aim is to complete 100 reps of each exercise in 40 minutes.  You can do them in any order and as many reps at a time as you like, the only catch being that every five minutes you have to join in and do one minute plank.  The same exercises are kept for a 4 week period to allow time to improve and hopefully achieve 100 reps across the board.  It’s awesome.

The Pannawonica 8 week Fat Burn Challenge has commenced this week and I swear I am having chocolate and alcohol withdrawal symptoms which is quite possibly why nothing creative is coming alive on the blog.  Week one in changing dietary habits is always painful.  I usually find after two weeks the cravings drop off significantly but those habits take a while to stick.  Ho hum.  I have started using the ‘My Fitness Pal’ app on my phone which is actually really good.  Easy to use and the break down of macros is great.

Another thing we have done as a family is to register for the nearest Mother’s Day Classic Fun Run which is in Karratha.  We are hoping to train 2-3x/week and build up to running the whole 4km.  To keep us motivated (and not look like a crazy running group) we decided to split the family into two training teams.  Team Rangas includes the red headed twins and myself, while Team Chunky Butts has my husband and both the eldest and youngest children.  I have also downloaded RunKeeper to keep track of our progress.  Yes, look at me embracing my new iPhone technology…wonders will never cease.  Training has been going really well and it is great seeing them excited to beat their time, or run that little bit further.  I also love listening to them chat about their day, it is quickly becoming my favourite part of the day.

You can support us and donate to Breast Cancer Research here.

Well that is the new hitlist underway and hopefully this marks the end of the blog drought.  What is everyone else up to and is anyone else training for the Mother’s Day Classic?  Where abouts?

One thought on “Exercise Hitlist No.3 – Off and Running

  1. Wow, that new hit list is making my head spin. Beth you are a machine.
    I have seen you knock off other items, and you will do great. So wonderful you found your new training partner. Also, so cool to be training a bit with your boys! 🙂
    ~Carl~

    Like

Leave a Reply

