10 Reasons You Should Start an Exercise Hitlist

For those of you who are following this blog you may have missed my earlier posts on the reasons why I started my own Exercise Hitlists.  You can read about that here and here if you wish.  I also thought I would give you 10 reasons why you should start your very own hitlist!!

1.  Stop Procrastinating

Don’t be a should’ve, would’ve, could’ve person!  A hitlist is all about writing down those things that you have always thought of doing.  “I would like to run that loop around the river, it looks amazing”  Well put it on the list along with the things that you will need to do it.  ie Buy shoes, Start a running program, Begin a basic strength program.  BAM, you are already up to 4 items.  You can read my basic Hitlist Rules on this page, but don’t forget they are only a guideline do what works for you.

procrastinate

2.  Commit to your Goals

The very act of writing your goals down is a powerful way of committing to them.  A study completed by Dominican University of California has proven that by accountability, committment, and writing your goals down, you are 33% more likely to be successful.  An exercise hitlist can give you a very clear plan on how you (and your family) are going to become more active.

3.  Be a Tourist in Your Own City and Surrounding Areas.

Stop waiting for your next holiday to do something exciting.  I guarantee people actually travel to your home town for their holidays (amazing right?).  Have you checked out all the popular tourist spots?  What does your local Visitor Centre recommend for ‘Things To Do’ in your area?  Every visitor centre I have been to are very helpful and often have maps on walking and biking trails that you can do.  So much fun to be had without going anywhere!

All of these spots are within 20 minutes from home.

All of these spots are within 20 minutes from home.

4.  Get Stuff Done.

I have completed about 5 hitlists in total.  On some lists, I have a couple of things that I didn’t quite get around to, whether because I lost enthusiasm for that item, or other factors came into play.  But that’s OK, the positive thing is that I managed to complete 8 other items that may otherwise have been lost in the craziness of everyday life and not even attempted.  I find that I am now much better at finding reasons why I can fit something in, then automatically saying that I couldn’t possibly do that.

5.  It Inspires Others

Don’t underestimate your ability to inspire others.  Put it out there, take photos and share them.  Not only will you have people wondering where you are, you will have them wondering whether they could do more, and then before you know it they are doing more activity too.  In a nation that is high up on the obesity stakes, we can all do with a little inspiration.

6.  Quite Simply, It……Is……Fun.

No really, it is.  My hitlist, or your sister’s hitlist may not look that exciting and that’s OK.  Make it exciting for you.  Sometimes you have to try a few new things before you find the thing that floats your boat.  That’s the whole point.  Go on, try it.

7.  You Will Do Things You Didn’t Think Were Possible.

Ask me 12 months ago whether I could run 5km and I would have laughed myself silly and told you that I couldn’t run and wouldn’t be trying it anytime soon either.  It starts with you asking a question of yourself about whether it is possible?  It is a little spark of hope and belief that opens up a whole world of opportunity.  Because when you start believing in yourself anything is possible….and that is an amazing feeling.

One of the greatest momets

8.  Your Family Will Thank You

My husband and I have four beautiful boys, one 8yr old, twins who are 6 1/2 yrs old, and one 4 1/2 yr old.  Kids need to be active and benefit from exploring and being outside, surrounded by nature.  We have done quite a lot with the kids just by starting with a basic plan and the desire to try new things.  Check out some of the fun, simple, things we have done with the kids.

Lesmurdie Falls and Why All Kids Should Get Out and Explore

Indoor Rockclimbing

John Forrest National Park and The Troll Tunnel

9.  You May Lose Weight….Or You May Not.

To be honest you won’t hear me going on about weight loss too much here, although I am a girl and reserve the right to whinge about my weight occasionally.  The reason I don’t want the hitlist to be about weight is that successful weight loss is about a combination of factors coming into play such as nutrition, consistent exercise, stress levels, sleep quality, and gut health.  I have seen weight loss attempts being foiled by just one of these things not being right.  The Exercise Hitlist is about finding enjoyment in exercise, trying new things, being a positive role model for your kids or those around you, and its about making exercise a habit.  Hopefully by starting a hitlist you will be empowered and start to feel capable of tackling the other factors if your goal is weight loss.

10.  You Will Feel Awesome

Start ticking a few items off the list and you will start feeling awesome.  Complete a whole entire Exercise Hitlist and look back over what you have done, trust me, you will feel like a Rockstar!!  Don’t believe me, go on I dare you to try it…..

What would you put on your Hitlist??

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “10 Reasons You Should Start an Exercise Hitlist

    • I lived near Sydney for 8 years and could kick myself for not making the most of exploring such a great area…grrr. Now I try and do it all (I think it is a never ending list though). I would probably exercise just for reasons #3 and #7!

      Like

  1. Love this. I’m probably in the worst shape I’ve been in, apart from just after pregnancy with my last 13 years ago. While health issues have been limiting me, they really are just excuses and I while weight loss isn’t a possibility, I need to move away from the excuses and limitations & find a way forward.

    Like

    • It is so easy to get overwhelmed by the reasons why we can’t and not look for the simple ways to enjoy it in ways that are suitable. Good luck with it and I am happy to have a chat it you want to bounce some ideas around. Cheers, Beth. 🙂

      Like

  2. Love this! I tend to keep a seasonal mental hitlist, but writing it down would certainly make it more real. This winter I intend to try indoor rock climbing, and maybe some skiing if my hamstring is healthy (strained it over the summer). I’ve also been wanting to try snow shoeing for a few years now, but haven’t gotten my hands (feet?) on a pair yet…

    Like

Leave a comment